NES 116 is a unique and exciting location and is situated in the middle of one of the oldest parts of Amsterdam.
The St. Mary Monastery, a women’s convent of the Third Order of the Franciscans, was established in 1417 where the modern day building of Nes 116 can be found. In the 16th century the monastery was situated in the then named Mariënstraetgen which nowadays would span parts of the Rokin, Langebrugsteeg, Nes and Kalfsvelsteeg. Here it stood until the order was finally disbanded in 1585. The remnants of the monastery’s foundations as well as its cemetery can still be seen in the basement of Nes 116.